Weardale Properties Ltd. is a family-run, property development business founded by an Anglo –Norwegian partnership between Bill Wood and Finn Atle Haldorsen in 2014.
The Queens Apartments is Weardale Properties first completed project, set within the heart of the Weardale countryside in the serene village of Stanhope. The glorious four-story building dates back to the early 1800s and has been tastefully renovated from a Public House into three 5 star holiday rental apartments.
The property is very spacious and can be let as three individual self-catering apartments or, for that extra special occasion, the entire building can accommodate a group of 20 guests and still retain the option of separation if additional privacy is required.
The Queens History
The Queens Apartments, formally the Queens Head, was built in 1800 and registered as a Public House in 1842. It was first named ‘The Queens Head’ in 1852 and has kept this name ever since. The ‘Queen’ concept has been maintained throughout the decor in order to preserve a part of the buildings rich history.
Stanhope is the central location of Weardale in the rural west of County Durham and is known as ‘England’s Last Wilderness’, remaining largely unknown but nonetheless it is the hidden jewel in the Northeast crown.
Ribbons of tunnels running deep underground mark the roots of the quaint village that was once built on the early lead mines. Still to this day, working mines are the fruitful source of the famous Weardale lead and fluorspar.